Here’s the deal. I hurt my ankle. Nothing was broken, but instead I injured a joint in my left ankle by stretching a couple of ligaments beyond their normal capacities. It hurt, but I’m still kicking (in theory) and life goes on. Seeing as I like my job too much, I’d rather not miss work. I also care about my future as an archaeologist and my ability to continue having adventures like I’ve had. As per the request of the doctors that attended to me at the hospital, I was wheelchair bound throughout the day and may continue to be until I heal. Although I’ve been using crutches to get around, the extent of my injury has made it impractical (and painful) to use crutches from 8:30am – 4:30pm as I walk around a 4 floor museum with my class. Now you might think, “Daniel, are you doing this to get attention? Are you really that injured?”. My answer is simple. No, I do not want attention. And yes, I am that injured.  I would prefer that I could go about my day and do my job as well as I can. As long as my students are learning and having fun, I’m happy and could care less about what people think of me.  Although I’m in a fair amount of pain, why show it? My job is to bring happiness and educate people who have paid good money for my program. If I can be happy and positive despite my setback, everyone else will. Furthermore, rolling around the museum (pun intended) has given me a new perspective on how I view education and the overall museum experience. Not only have I found it quite difficult and tedious to navigate my workplace, but I’ve also first hand experienced how uncaring some people can actually be. Aside from the architectural flaws of my workplace, something I’d rather not elaborate upon, it has become apparent to me that most people don’t really care. Walking onto the subway on crutches, or moving through the museum in a wheel chair, people do not extend the same courtesy that I expected of them. I mean, I am clearly not having the best of days (mobility-wise), why not give me a seat? Now I don’t want to come off as dejected or cynical. In fact, despite initial feelings of frustration, I learned something very important. Although at a moments notice give someone in need my seat, expecting this from others may seem impractical. “Treat people the way I want to feel“; that’s what Gretchen Rubin would say. Indeed, if I want to be a good person and extend a courtesy to someone else, I shouldn’t expect that back. Happiness is INTERNAL. The mere act of helping someone in need should be good enough for me. Giving, not receiving, should be a source of happiness. Through frustration and momentary anger/contempt, I learned a valuable lesson.

Just some ideas. Thought I’d share them. Time to get some more ice…

– Daniel

