I began studying Krav Maga 8 months ago while trying to cross #21 (learn Krav Maga) off of my bucket list. However, what began as simple curiosity was instantly transformed into a burning passion and one of the most significant life-changing experiences of my life. For those unfamiliar with Krav Maga, it is a practical system of unarmed combat and self-defence created by Imi Lichtenfield that encompasses effectiveness, efficiency and ease. Taken from the KMT website, “the systems methodology is explosive and very aggressive, reflecting everything from the very basic, intuitive defences to worst-case scenarios, under both physically and mentally strenuous situations”. The official hand-to-hand combat system of the Israeli Defence Forces, Krav Maga is utilized by law enforcement, military and civilian personnel around the world. This being said, it certainly isn’t for everybody. While the art itself is intuitive and easy to learn, the training is quite demanding, rigorous, and exhausting. One need not be in peak physical form to succeed. What’s required is the perseverance, dedication, respect, and willingness to sacrifice that distinguishes those possessing that special spark, from the weak. 

Saying that I’m obsessed with Krav Maga doesn’t quite reflect how much this art has changed me. That would be an understatement. It’s opened my eyes to a whole new world – one of new opportunities, friendships, learning experiences, and wisdom. It’s started a fire in my heart. An energy and power brought forth by excitement and passion. My anxiety, insecurities, and self-doubt now feel like artifacts of the past. They’ve been replaced by self-confidence and self-respect. I’m certainly not the best. But I’m certainly better than I was when I first walked into the Krav Maga Toronto gym on that late mid-October night… 

For the rest of this post, check it out HERE on my new website!

– Daniel

